Welcome to Inkbunny...
Allowed ratings
To view member-only content, create an account. ( Hide )
Inkbunny

Friends - Private Content, TOS changes

Hi everyone

We just upgraded Inkbunny and there's a bunch of new stuff to tell you about.

But it takes us a while to get the list of changes together and write a journal about it. So we'll tell you about the most important new feature this week. News about the other updates will follow soon.

Friends - Private Content

You might have noticed that there is now a "+Friend" option on user accounts.

When you Friend someone (and if they accept the Friend Request) you will then be able to share Private Content with them (you will see their private content, and they will see yours).

Private Content is a submission, journal or stream that has been set as visible to "Friends Only".

The option to set an item "Friends Only" is under the "Edit" option for that item, or in the options when you first create the item.

Friends List - Confirmed and Pending requests

You can always see your list of Friends by clicking the Friends link at the top of your userpage.

Your friends list is private and no one else can see it (except moderators of course).

Incoming requests and accepted requests will appear in your Unread Notices. But the Friends list is there so you can always keep track of it all even if you clear those notices.

You can also use this list to keep track of requests that have been made that have not yet been accepted (by you or by others).

Making all new content Friends-only by default

You can set the Friends-only option enabled by default. Just choose this option in your Account Settings. It means that anything new you create will have the Friend-only option ticked automatically.

This is useful for anyone who wants a 100% private-content account.

How to turn Friends Requests Off

If you have no intention of sharing private content, and you don't want to be spammed with Friend Requests from people, then you can turn off Friend Requests in your Account Settings https://inkbunny.net/account.php#private

You can still send Friend Requests to other people if you disable this. It just removes the +Friend link from your userpage and stops people sending requests to you.

Wiki entry for the Friends feature

For more details see the IB Wiki page on Friends http://wiki.inkbunny.net/wiki/Watch_and_Friend

Terms of Service Changes

There have also been changes to the TOS as we remove the old sales system and get ready for the new one. The major difference is that under the new system artists are responsible for processing payments individually and Inkbunny just acts as a sales management tool (not a payment processor). More news about that coming soon!

Thanks

IB
Viewed: 666 times
Added: 7 years, 8 months ago
Site News Item: yes
 
Flygon
7 years, 8 months ago
I have no complaints against this feature. :D
Inkbunny
7 years, 8 months ago
I forgot to mention, if you want to set ALL your NEW content Friends-only, you can choose to make it the default option when you create submissions, journals and streams. Just check out the options in the Account Settings. Useful for people who want to make 100% private-content accounts.
Toksyuryel
7 years, 8 months ago
Great,  now to go through my entire watch list and friend the ones who are friends! This will take a while...
starling
7 years, 8 months ago
I'd suggest only friending people you expect to share private content with, or who have said they will be posting private content. That's all the feature is for.
Toksyuryel
7 years, 8 months ago
I wouldn't consider them friends if I wouldn't be willing to do such. I followed the same policy on my LJ when I used to update it. And now I am upset because there's no add friend link on your page :(
starling
7 years, 8 months ago
I don't plan to post private content so I disabled it. That's all it is for. There's no point Friending my account.
hexxy
7 years, 8 months ago
but doesn't it work both ways? What if I want to share *my* private content with you? I am confused :U
starling
7 years, 8 months ago
Well yes it does stop people "inviting" you to see their stuff. But some of us need to hide from the friendflood. xD If there is juicy stuff to share in that situation, best to PM the person and tell them to friend you. (Or trust that mods see most uploads to the site anyway in case it's a mod yer talking about). :3
hexxy
7 years, 8 months ago
don't wanna be like myspace's Tom Anderson and have looooots of friends? :P
Xanthe
7 years, 8 months ago
I love the sound of this & intend to utilize it fully in the future! Me and the Mister were recently having a chat about how it would be awesome if you could pick specifically who you wanted to show your artwork to. So, thanks  & nice work! =D
starling
7 years, 8 months ago
No problem! :D
Quiet269
7 years, 8 months ago
ToS Changes?

Can we has H000mans now?
starling
7 years, 8 months ago
Uhhh.. no. Well not unless they have LOTS AND LOTS OF CLOTHES ON.
Quiet269
7 years, 8 months ago
Aww
JustAMan
7 years, 8 months ago
Are you guys still working on it though? Not that I really care personally, but it's kind of silly when I see people go "OH I WON'T USE INKBUNNY BECAUSE THEY'RE ANTI-HUMAN", even though you guys didn't choose to have it be this way. So silly.
starling
7 years, 8 months ago
Well it's okay if people don't like Inkbunny due to the human rule. They should go to places where human porn is allowed if that's what they want to see/post! We don't mind being disliked if it makes it better somehow for the smaller number of people that like us. We want to be best not biggest! :3
GreenReaper
7 years, 8 months ago
" starling wrote:
Uhhh.. no. Well not unless they have LOTS AND LOTS OF CLOTHES ON.
Sounds hot!
starling
7 years, 8 months ago
Tweaker
7 years, 8 months ago
I know the friends system is primarily for sharing private content and I'm fine with that, but is there any chance of allowing people to show their friends list publicly to others? DeviantART has ability and I rather like it. If nothing else, it's easier than putting my buddies' icons in my profile and having to manually update it.

I know it's a relatively minor thing and I do understand the potential social issues in letting peoples' friends lists be public; that's why I would suggest that displaying friends publicly be an optional thing. It wouldn't be all that different from displaying peoples' watchers or who they're watching, in any case.

By the way, thanks for this feature! It's very neat.
furnut5158
7 years, 8 months ago
*waits for the new shiny sales system* :D :D :D
RealZero
7 years, 8 months ago
Even though I will most likely not use this feature myself, it's certainly nice to see. *nods*
Nice addition and certainly good to see users have more control over who sees what, I really approve of this.^^

I'm looking forward to more separated lists, like watching only submissions or only journals, or maybe even only submissions to a certain pool, in the future, maybe.
But well, this and more ideas in an upcoming feature idea ticket.^^

So far, you did a great job, I'm curious what the next changes will be.



Sadly I fear the new sales system will not work out for my own sales as I simply don't have the possibility to get prints actually...printed, and I guess the printing by IB won't be introduced, will it?

Ah well, we shall see.
Asides that, you haven't announced
maverick
maverick
's new website "banner" thingy, have you? It's great and should be announced properly.^^

Thanks for your work, have a nice time.

Greetings,
RealZero
New Comment:
Move reply box to top
Log in or create an account to comment.