We just made some changes to ensure that direct image source URLs will be blocked if the file is "Hidden" or set "Friends-only", unless the user viewing the file has logged in to Inkbunny and is allowed access to that file.
Previously, the Hidden and Friends-only conditions would only hide the submission page, but people could still access the direct image source URL if they knew it (such as if the image source URL was posted on another site or shared by someone else who had access).
The point isn't to prevent files from getting out there (people with private access could still save the file and repost it elsewhere) but it just means the site is now controlling access to your private files the way you would expect, not just hiding the submission page.
This is a major change to how file URLs are handled, so please let us know right away if you notice any bugs such as features suddenly not working right or thumbnails/images not showing properly.
11 years ago
24 Apr 2011 11:06 CEST
|Site News Item: